Henri Roll-Tanguy Prize for the Spanish Civil Struggle

ACER (Friends of Fighters in Republican Spain) is a memorial association of fighters of international brigades and international volunteers. Its purpose is to recall the memory and value of the dedication of the men and women, French and foreign, who went to help and defend the Spanish Republic during the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939).

Awarding of the “Henri ROL-TANGUY” award.

The Henri Rolle-Tanguy Prize annually honors French-speaking university work at Master 2 level that deals with multiple expressions of international solidarity towards Republican and anti-fascist Spain, the International Brigades, the historical memory of the Spanish Civil War and/or its continuity during the Second World War.

This research work can be rooted in different scientific fields: historical, linguistic, literary, aesthetic, philosophical, sociological, didactic. The various archives available today, including those of the International Brigades, are still little used and rich in heuristic perspectives.

The competition jury, chaired by François Godicheau, is composed of academics and people of authority in the field through their work or their publications.

The prize is awarded with a grant of 2,000 euros, which is awarded at the laureate award ceremony.

2022 Award Rules

Papers prepared by students of literature, art, humanities and social sciences who have defended and approved a master’s 2 research dissertation on the Spanish Civil War are accepted.

The presented works must not be older than two years from the day of the review by the jury.

Date of opening of the call for applications: 1er October 2022.

Deadline for submitting applications: December 16, 2022.

All applicants must submit their dossier online to the following address: [email protected]

Each application file must contain:

– dissertation (PDF version);

– a short informative note for the attention of the jury that represents the goal pursued and the motivation of the study;

– defense certificate;

– application form completed and available for consultation on the website.

The award is given for individual work or team work. It can, if necessary, be shared (two 1er linked price, or 1er and 2e price for example).

The jury decides on the awarding of the award collegially, based on the evaluations of the two rapporteurs appointed for each of the dissertations. Evaluation criteria are contribution to the scientific community, formal and expressive qualities, qualities related to scientific approach and methodology. The prize is awarded during an official ceremony to which, in addition to the members of the jury, members and friends of ACER are invited.

jury, in charge of the scientific expertise of the research work and the announcement of the winner, is made up of the following members:

– François Godicheau (chairman), historian, university professor, Toulouse Jean-Jaurès;

– Jean-François Berdah, historian, HDR lecturer, Toulouse Jean-Jaurès;

– Nicolas Bianchi, Doctor of French Literature, ATER at the University of Aix-Marseille;

– Robert Coale, University Professor, Department of Roman Studies, Rouen;

– Guy Krivopissko, historian specializing in the Resistance, former director of the National Museum of the Resistance in Champigny-sur-Marne;

– Natacha Lillo, lecturer of contemporary Spanish civilization, Paris-Diderot University;

– Manuelle Peloille, historian, university professor, Angers;

– Edouard Sill, doctor of contemporary history (EPHE PSL), research associate at CHS Paris;

– Rémi Skoutelsky, doctor of history, author Hope guided their steps. French volunteers in international brigades 1936 -1939Paris, Grasset, 1998;

– Two ACER representatives.

To see full rules on the ACER-AVER website:

contacts :

Francoise Demougin: [email protected]

Bruno Belliot: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button